Gods and Kings

Gods and Kings by Lynn Austen was AMAZING!!! My mom read this entire series and told me for almost two years that it was really good and I needed to read it. I didn’t. I had a whole list of books I already wanted to read and didn’t really want to add anymore to my list until I had read some off my list. Last week, I sucked it up and started reading Gods and Kings. I am so glad I did.

This book is based on I Kings in the Bible and starts with Ahaz and his reign as King of Judah and ends with his son Hezekiah taking the throne. It also tells about Ahaz’s father and grandfather as well in flashbacks by Hezekiah’s maternal grandfather, Zechariah. It was a VERY interesting and easy read. I finished the entire 300+ pages in three or four days. It talks about Israel and how they turned from God to idolatry. It shows the consequences for turning to idols and it also shows God’s love for His people and reminds Israel of all He brought them out of and how He took care of them throughtout the years.

I have to admit reading the books of I and II Kings in the Bible is something I haven’t done. At least I haven’t read them all the way through. I’ve read some of the other books in the Bible but  I don’t think I’ve read through the two books of the Kings. Reading Gods and Kings has changed my mind on that and I will be reading both I and II Kings as soon as I finish reading this series of five books.

While reading this book, I felt as though I were having a “quiet time” with God the entire time. If this book were mine, I would have highlighted or underlined portions. Being that it wasn’t, I took a few notes and wrote quotes from the book into a notebook. Here are two of the quotes I wrote down that really touched me:

  1. “Yahweh doesn’t owe us an explanation for what He does. He’s sovereign over all….I don’t need to know why anymore.”
  2. “Belief in Yahweh doesn’t come with your mind….It comes with your heart. When you only believe in things you can see with your eyes and touch with your hands, it is idolatry….there’s no difference in God’s eyes. It’s all idolatry.”

This book really struck a chord with me and I’ve already started on the second book in the series which begins with Hezekiah’s reign. I might purchase a copy of this series so I can read it again and mark the books as I go. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

